Press Releases

Appointments to the Order of Canada

January 22, 1998

OTTAWA -- Sixty-eight appointments to the Order of Canada were announced today by the Governor General of Canada, Roméo LeBlanc, Chancellor and Principal Companion of the Order. The list of appointments includes four Companions (C.C.), 19 Officers (O.C.) and 45 Members (C.M.).

In announcing the appointments, the Governor General paid tribute to the recipients whose contributions cover a wide range of fields from the arts, voluntarism and philanthropy to business, science, education and public service.

The Queen of Canada is the Sovereign of the Order, established in 1967 to recognize outstanding achievement and service in various fields of human endeavour. The first person to be invested in the Order was the Right Honourable Roland Michener, who received the insignia of Chancellor from Her Majesty on July 5, 1967. Appointments are made on the recommendation of an Advisory Council, chaired by the Chief Justice of Canada. Any individual may nominate a fellow citizen for appointment to the Order by sending a letter of recommendation to the Director of Honours, The Chancellery, Government House, Ottawa.

The new appointments are in effect as of October 23, 1997. The appointees will be invited to future investiture ceremonies to be held at Rideau Hall. At that time, the Governor General will present the insignia of the Order.


Agnes M. Benidickson, C.C., O.Ont. (Philanthropy)
(This is a promotion within the Order)
 Ottawa, Ont.
M. Joan Chalmers, C.C., O.Ont. (Arts Patron)
(This is a promotion within the Order)
 Toronto, Ont.
Reva Appleby Gerstein, C.C., O.Ont. (Health Care)
(This is a promotion within the Order)
 Toronto, Ont.
David Lloyd Johnston, C.C. (Education)
(This is a promotion within the Order)
 Montréal, Que.


The Honourable Monique Bégin, P.C., O.C. (Education) Ottawa, Ont.
Serge Carrière, O.C. (Health Care) Vaudreuil-sur-le-Lac, Que.
Gisèle Côté-Harper, O.C. (Law)  Sainte-Foy, Que.
The Honourable Charles L. Dubin, O.C., O.Ont. (Law) Toronto, Ont.
James Douglas Fleck, O.C. (Business) Willowdale, Ont.
Raymond O. Heimbecker, O.C. (Health Care) Collingwood, Ont. and Bahamas
Harley Norman Hotchkiss, O.C. (Business) Calgary, Alta.
Eva Kushner, O.C. (Education) Toronto, Ont.
Evelyn Story Lett, O.C. (Voluntarism) Vancouver, B.C.
Robert MacNeil, O.C. (Mass Media) New York, New York, U.S.A.
Ian Renwick McWhinney, O.C. (Health Care) London, Ont.
Henry Mintzberg, O.C. (Education) Montréal, Que.
Nick Mulder, O.C. (Public Service) Ottawa, Ont.
Robert George Everitt Murray, O.C. (Science) London, Ont.
Ralph William Nicholls, O.C. (Science) Thornhill, Ont.
Richard Henry Oland, O.C. (Voluntarism) Rothesay, N.B.
Lewis Perinbam, O.C. (International Development) Vancouver, B.C.
Lloyd Robertson, O.C. (Mass Media) Markham, Ont.
Michael Perry Shepard, O.C. (Public Service) Victoria, B.C.



Donald C. Archibald , C.M. (Science) Toronto, Ont.
John Gordon Bates, C.M. (Voluntarism) Islington, Ont.
Laurent Bélanger, C.M., O.Ont. (Business) Earlton, Ont.
Barry Broadfoot, C.M. (Literary Arts) Nanaimo, B.C.
Constantine Alberga Campbell, C.M. (Science) Ottawa, Ont.
The Honourable Réjane Laberge Colas, C.M. (Voluntarism) Montréal, Que. 
Catherine Anne Crocker, C.M. (Social Service) Fredericton, N.B.
John Hugh Currie, C.M. (Voluntarism) Calgary, Alta.
Bobby Curtola, C.M. (Music) Spruce Grove, Alta.
Jean Cypihot, C.M. (Social Service) Outremont, Que.
The Honourable Thomas Anthony Dohm, C.M. (Law) Vancouver, B.C.
Pierre Y. Ducros, C.M. (Business) Outremont, Que.
Robert Farnon, C.M. (Music) Guernsey, Channel Islands, U.K.
Waldron N. Fox-Decent, C.M.M., C.M., M.C. (Education) Winnipeg, Man.
Gaetano Gagliano, C.M. (Business) Concord, Ont.
Zoie Gardner, C.M. (Voluntarism) Edmonton, Alta.
Amédée Gaudreault, C.M. (Mass Media) Hull, Que.
Robert J. Giroux, C.M. (Public Service) Gatineau, Que.
Edgar Gold, C.M. (Law) Brisbane, Australia and Halifax, N.S.
Yude M. Henteleff, C.M. (Social Service) Winnipeg, Man.
Polly Hill, C.M. (Social Service) Toronto, Ont.
Orville Hjertaas, C.M., S.O.M. (Health Care) Prince Albert, Sask.
Donald George Jackson, C.M. (Athletics)  Ottawa, Ont.
Jacki Ralph Jamieson, C.M. (Voluntarism) North Vancouver, B.C.
Eric Kenneth Jerrett, C.M. (Heritage/Conservation) Bay Roberts, Nfld.
Marcel Kretz, C.M. (Culinary Arts) Val David, Que.
Richard Henry Alexander Kroft, C.M. (Business) Winnipeg, Man.
Joseph Kruger II, C.M., C.Q. (Business) Montréal, Que.
Isabel McLaughlin, C.M. (Visual Arts) Toronto, Ont.
Richard Monette, C.M. (Theatre) Stratford, Ont.
Robert Earle Ness, C.M. (Agriculture) Howick, Que.
The Most Reverend Harold Lee Nutter, C.M. (Religion) Douglas, N.B.
Thomas Bernard O'Grady, C.M. (Protective Services) Orillia, Ont.
Margaret Ruth Page, C.M., C.D. (Health Care) Thunder Bay, Ont.
Claude Petit, C.M. (Athletics) Saskatoon, Sask.
Herbert Charles Pinder, Sr., C.M. (Business) Saskatoon, Sask.
Benedict Pothier, C.M. (Health Care) Dalhousie, N.B.
Donald Allan Ramsay, C.M. (Science) Ottawa, Ont.
Ricky Kanee Schachter, C.M. (Health Care) Toronto, Ont.
Irving Schwartz, C.M. (Voluntarism) Sydney, N.S.
George Szasz, C.M. (Health Care) West Vancouver, B.C.
Gordon Robert Tapp, C.M. (Music) Burlington, Ont.
David Black Weldon, C.M. (Business) Arva, Ont.
Vincent George Withers, C.M. (Voluntarism) St. John's, Nfld.
Donald J.P. Ziraldo, C.M. (Business) Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont.





Donald George Jackson, C.M. (Ottawa, Ontario)
Order of Canada

He is a four-time figure skating champion who holds the distinction of being the first skater ever to successfully complete a "triple lutz" jump in competition. Since retiring from competitive skating, he has devoted much of his time to the teaching and coaching of young Canadians, nurturing our next generation of talent. As the Executive Director of Ottawa's Minto Skating Club, he shares his passion and artistry in performances which generate funds and help promote the sport nationally.

Home Products Photo gallery Search by subject site map